On wanting to be Blair Waldorf

I must (shamelessly) admit that at some point in my life I wanted to be Blair Waldorf. I was 16 and wore headbands all the time. For those of you who don’t know about her, let me walk you through it.

It started as a popular teen phenomenon on 2007. Gossip Girl became an instant hit when it hit TV’s all across the world and brought to life the sneaky lives of Manhattan’s Upper East Side prep school scene through the eyes of an unknown blogger: Gossip Girl. No one know who she is, what she looks like or her motives towards the group. But what they do know about is her ability to know what goes on in their lives, sometimes before they know about it.

But what Gossip girl really brought to the screen was a major fashion show from every designer thanks to costume designer, Eric Daman. From episode 1 until last night’s show (and of course until the season finale that’s coming up), Eric has really set who and what the Gossip Girl characters are through their clothing.

My love story with Gossip Girl began in 2010 when I knew about it through some friends. I was immediately hooked to the point when I began wearing headbands and calling my best friend “S” as in Serena (I was “B” for Blair, of course). The first screening party I every had was when my ex-boyfriend dumped me. I decided to have an amazing night of brownies, friendship and Gossip Girl with my best friend. We recapped every season we had missed and got ready for the newest season that was about to start.

So you can understand my infatuation with the show’s fashion, please go through my GG wall of fame.

1. Serena van der Woodsen (Season 6)

2.Serena van der Woodsen and Blair Waldorf (Season 4)

3. Blair Waldorf (Season 3)

4. Jenny Humphrey (Season 2)

5. Blair Waldorf (Season 2)

6. Blair Waldorf (Season 1)

7. Serena van der Woodsen (Season 3)

xoxo,

French

(I wish I could say Gossip Girl but since I am not her)

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

