The Weekend 5

Another weekend has come and gone. Finally, this is a Monday I can actually enjoy with no class.

This weekend, my friends Ivanna and Andrea came in from Syracuse and Massachusetts. We went to the beach of Friday and went to my favorite spot, El Barril, at night. On Saturday, I reunited with my high school class to go to the Calle 13 concert.

For those of you who don’t know who he is: Calle 13 is a Puerto Rican band whose main singer Rene Perez is one of the most controversial musical figures in Latin America. He was banned from doing a concert in Puerto Rico in 2009 by San Juan’s mayor for making very incriminating comments about him. Though the whole island thought they were true. But now, after the general election in November, Calle 13 started announcing his concert illegally with no permits, location or sponsors. Fortunately, San Juan’s mayor lost the election and Calle 13 was free to express his powerful lyrics in the island. The concert attracted more than 25,000 spectators and other 25,000 online.

I experimented a bit with my camera this weekend, so let’s see the final results.

DSCN0151

Headband on my friend, Gabriela.

DSCN0157

I plane flew by and I couldn’t help but take a picture.

DSCN0179

Can you say arm party? Ivanna had an amazing set of bangles.

DSCN0185

Ivette and her sexy outfit pur us all to shame.

DSCN0196

I love Andrea’s asymmetrical skirt. A bit different from the usual front to back asymmetry.

Leave a Reply

