Once upon an internship

I entered the workforce when I was fifteen, when I begged for an internship at Ego Magazine for the summer. Two nights before I was just a normal high school girl reading The Teen Vogue Handbook, when the lightbulb turned on and I decided to ask for an internship. I grabbed my latest issue of Ego and looked for the editor’s e-mail. Needless to say, it looked like a scene out of The Carrie Diaries. I was fast in my writing but strong-willed. Not even half an hour passed from the moment the muse struck to pressing send. My life changed forever from that moment.

The magical journey began with a summer spent at Ego writing stories and living the dream, but it became so much more. I proceeded to be a contributor at egomoda.com, a fashion week reporter, interview the Victoria’s Secret Angels and going to workshops outside Puerto Rico, like the FIT Pre-College programs and Teen Vogue Fashion University. I was determined to make it as a fashion writer. Still am.

But after three years, a high school graduation and meny lessons learned, today I start one of the most important steps in my career: an internship at Revista Imagen. FYI, it is my life long dream. Stay tuned.


DSCN0624

A sophisticated yet juvenile outfit to represent myself well. You know what they say (or at least what my journalism professor says): “Presentation is everything”. I am wearing: Zara shirt and shoes, unknown brand pants, Forever 21 necklace, Aldo bag and Marc Jacobs watch.
DSCN0627

DSCN0626

One thought on “Once upon an internship

Leave a Reply

