Whore, really?

What-length-is-your-dress.-Stand-For

I have a question for you (both men and women): what do you think about this picture? Is it right? Is it wrong? Well, I happen to think it’s plain and utterly rude and chauvinistic and abusive and a whole set of words that I won’t keep rambling about. In fact, I picked up this photo on Facebook, where a really random page that I had no idea I had liked posted it, and couldn’t believe what my eyes were seeing. Whore, really? Matronly, really? PROPER, REALLY? Doesn’t this bother you as a woman? It sure does to me.

It makes me question if society has really changed (at least a little) how they see women. We have the right to vote, the right to own property, we (well, not me, all of you mothers) raise children alone, we (once again, not me) have empowering careers and dominate men in the workforce. But it all seems to not be enough for the world to stop calling us whores (which I find to be a very disgusting word; say it right: prostitute!). A woman might be the CEO of her own company but if she wears a short skirt, she’s immediately trying to seek male attention. My mother can tell you her whole life story (which is really inspiring and powerful, let me tell you!) while exposing some cleavage and a man wouldn’t take her seriously. (And  while we are on the topic, asking for it? Really? So, if I wear a skirt that short I’m asking for… rape? Harassment?) Really? Can’t women show off the fact that they are hot, successful and empowered?

Far from pointing fingers, I am here to give you a lesson in fashion terminology. Yes, because I believe the world needs it to understand the real meaning of hemlines. You see that whore level? It’s called a high-waisted hot pant. And the matronly level right there? It’s called a maxi skirt and it’s a very fashionable piece of clothing. Oh, and that proper level, which basically stands for the “hemline you are entitled to wear to follow what this chauvinistic society has programmed you for”, is the hemline mostly used by Park Avenue, investment bankers’ wives that, at least to me, seem super judgmental, not empowered and as old school as they come. So, please, use these terms wisely. Don’t judge the hemline, if you haven’t met the brain.

PS. Girls, if you are going out tonight, do me a favor: wear the hemline that pleases YOU!

Leave a Reply

