Last pair: a story of shoe disappointment

Miu-Miu-Polka-Dot-Sandal1Marilyn Monroe once said: “Give a girl the right shoes and she can conquer the world”. Well, I found the right shoes, only to lose them without even buying them. While at Ft. Lauderdale a couple of weeks ago, I encountered my favorite pair of Miu Miu sandals. I had first seen these on Eva Chen (former beauty director at Teen Vogue) and quickly fell in love with them. So, it was no surprise that when I saw them at the Prada Outlet at Sawgrass Mills, I almost fainted. Before you judge me for acting so exaggerated upon a pair of shoes, consider this for a second: I am small town girl from Caguas, Puerto Rico whose capability to attain a pair of designer shoes is very limited. But this time, they were possible. Only one payment of $115, which my mom offered to make, and they would be mine. But destini has its ways to play with me.

When I grabbed the pair of shoes and looked closer, a sticker said: “Last pair, size 11”. S^%&! I am a size 7. My dream was crushed in less than five minutes. I had already envisioned myself walking around in them, carrying my Miu Miu shopping bag out of the store, flaunting my great bargain. Now, I was being forced to go out to the world to look for another shoe dream. Quickly, I realized that moments like these have greater meaning than just losing a pair of Miu Miu shoes. Sometimes, in life, we encounter people that we have dreamed about all along. We fantasize about them, idolize them, worship them, but, at the end of the day, if it’s not a fit, you have to go out there and find another one that fits.

Get the look for less

24834455-01Forever 21: $30

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

