To ink or not to ink?

That is the question.

For the past few months, I have been obsessed with the idea of having a tattoo. Not much as to getting it, since I know it will hurt like hell considering I am the most fearful person when it comes to needles. It’s surprising to everyone around me to see me so amazed by something that once was repulsive to my eyes. I must say, it is surprising to me also. I was never the type of girl to talk about piercings, tattoos, or any other type of juvenile body mark. But college and single life is getting to me, and I desire a mark on my body that will always, even when I’m dead, remind me of my youth. As they say: “We will never be younger than we are today”. I find this reason enough to hold on to my youth for as long as I live.

So what will this tattoo be, you may ask? Well, I am still debating. First, I thought I would ink the phrase: “Amor vincit omnia” on my back. Translation: “Love conquers all”. It would make sense since I am a devote of the religion of love, even beyond the love of a partner. But then I thought: “Hm? Everyone will think I did it for a boyfriend”. So, now it is off the list. Then, I became astonished with the idea of getting the Leo sign, also on my back. After all, it is my zodiac sign and Coco Chanel’s. Leos are one of the strongest, most successful and driven signs of the zodiac. It would be a good decision to have this forever on my skin. But then my conscience kicked in: “Have you ever felt like a real Leo? Does it really describe everything that you are? No, right?”. So, that one is also off the list.

Last, but not least, the ultimate tattoo obsession: Scrittice. Say what? Scrittice means writer in Italian (my favorite language). It would be combined with a hanger like the one above to symbolize the style-obsessed aspect of myself. This one, believe it or not, was suggested by my mother, who is beginning to familiarize and accept the idea of a daughter with a tattoo. Oh my! Now, all that is left is the courage to go into the tattoo shop, sit down without fainting and get my tattoo. Oh, and the money too. I’ll keep you posted on the happenings of my inking adventures.

Leave a Reply

