Sartorial bondage

Screen shot 2013-08-18 at 7.58.43 PM

[My take on the trend from Zara]

It had to happen at some point. Women have been drooling over its main character for two years and men are wondering on the sidelines what all the obsession is about. The rumors about a film version and who will make its cast emerge at least one time per month. Even I have caught the flu. And while I didn’t read the whole thing, it took me only a few chapters to realize that Fifty Shades of Grey would eventually make its jump to fashion. And it has.

I’m not talking about a Fifty Shades of Grey-inspired clothing line (although that would make much sense also), but I am referring rather to a trend, which was seen months ago at Lincoln Center when Prabal Gurung put harnesses on his models and is now making its mark on footwear. The sartorial bondage that we are now facing involves wearing pieces with belts, restraints and types of leather (preferably in black) that allude to the whole practice of BDSM (weird, I know). Fashion knows no limits, and it wouldn’t be the first time that it involves sexual practices on the runway.

So, now that we know the trend at hand, let me walk you through a few reasons why I think it’s totally okay to look like the stylish version of Anastasia Steele. To me, wearing multiple belts on my footwear adds a sense of toughness to my look, which is otherwise difficult to attain due to my classic personal style. If you find yourself in the same bandwagon, you will appreciate this trend as much as I do. Also, isn’t wearing incomprehensible footwear one of the perks of being a woman? At least for my semi-repellent mind, it is. Think about it: as women we always find a way to leave a man perplexed at the sight of our shoe choices. Believe me, this trend will do the trick.

Being filled in on the dangerously-looking trend, you are now ready to come face to face with the different iterations of it.

7502201040_1_1_1

Zara’s version at $99.

Prabal Gurung’s version in his Fall/Winter 2013 collection.

9223630976_aa390d28b6_o

Saint Laurent Paris belt worn by Chiara Ferragni (via The Blonde Salad)

photo

Directly from Italy, another variation worn by my friend Melanie Magri.

2 thoughts on “Sartorial bondage

  1. hermes 財布 メンズ

  2. I’ve been browsing on-line greater than three hours these days, yet I by no
    means found any fascinating article like yours.
    It is lovely value sufficient for me. Personally,
    if all webmasters and bloggers made excellent content as you did, the internet shall
    be a lot more helpful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

