Paris Je t’aime

1080261_434612929991046_1695300521_nWritten by Laura Rivera, edited by Frances Coral

Everyone loves Paris. It’s inevitable. How could they not? The Eiffel Tower, cafes, museums, Shakespeare & Co. Montmartre… I could go on with no end. These French fantasies and many more were fulfilled during my last trip to Paris in the beginning of August. Lucky me. Seven days enjoying France, just my boyfriend and me.

            We arrived in Paris on separate flights on August 1st (what a way to start the month). After much planning and anticipation, we were able to make it to the city of love and lights. Fresh off the airport, we checked into our hotel and headed out for a day of sightseeing. First, we visited the Eiffel Tower, to where I wore a navy shirt, black embellished pants and Aladdin-looking flats. The heat proved to be a challenge when it came time to continue our day, but still we managed to visit Notre Dame and Musée d’Orsay.

            With day one behind and day two promising great adventures, we headed out again to pay yet another visit to the Eiffel Tower in the morning. Right after, we visited the Louvre, where I lost my phone. Let’s just say that phones in Paris don’t disappear; they are found at the info booth (just like in Puerto Rico!). We went to Notre Dame again, but this time I took a white blazer, white pants and the Aladdin flats with me. Shakespeare & Co. was next, where we saw the desks of Hemingway and other acclaimed writers. At night, the Champs Elysees proved to be an excellent place to end the day.

            During our third day, we went to the Musee d’Orsay, yet again. But by day four, shopping awaited. The Champs Elysees witnessed my shopping journey, which was followed by an afternoon of museum hopping. The shopping experience included a new perfume, which was later taken away at customs (sad, I know).

            Versailles was on the schedule for day five. After taking the train all the way to the magical gardens of Louis XIV, it was closed. So, we dragged ourselves (disappointment included) to the Paris Opera and Julio Cortazar’s tomb. After, we went to the Eiffel Tower (it just doesn’t get old) where I gave my boyfriend a very special letter (the content is private!) and enjoyed the city view from above.

            On day six, we gave Versailles another try. This time, it was open, but too full for me to enjoy it fully (sad). We paid another visit to Montmartre, where we drank beer on the steps of Sacre Coeur, while I wore a beige maxi skirt, navy shirt and pink ballet flats.

            Our last day of exploring Paris served us well. First, we went to the Louvre, Shakespeare & Co. and ate crepes near Notre Dame. At night, we held a picnic at the Louvre (wine included) and walked to the Pont d’arts.

            When it came time to fly home, it was like Paris didn’t want to let me go. A huge line delayed me from arriving to my flight on time. Later, I was stopped at customs for having cosmetics and perfumes that were above the size limit (stupid rules!). Looking back, all I can say is: “Paris, Je t’aime”.

972400_434612919991047_837221713_n 1009853_434613423324330_20412924_n 1173868_434613503324322_81301239_n 1185240_434612753324397_304811621_n 1232596_434613543324318_1658767743_n

Leave a Reply

