A Case For Book Hoarding

Over the years, we accumulate a lot of crap.  Wherever we go, no matter how much we grow up, there are still pictures of 7th grade field trips and baby dolls that resemble Annabelle. What we carry as personal belongings say a lot about who we are. An old cat lady brings her cats, lots of knits and vintage furniture. Me? I bring a mood board, Apple Macbook Air, Canon T3 rebel, bed frame, apparel and three boxes full of books and magazines.

The latter is a pain in the ass when it comes to moving, like I recently discovered when switching apartments. No one volunteered to carry my 50 pounds (or more!) worth of intellectual adventures. Instead, my mom suggested that I edit my collection, to which I responded with an absolute NO!

Why should I give away my books? They are not only friends but brain stimulators that teach me lessons on not being normal (ie. Kelly Cutrone), 17th century English literature, how to read a book while skipping chapters (ie. Hopscotch), among many others. What I carry in my personal library is a collection that compiles what I am. After all, they say we are a reflection of what we read, see, do, hear and think. My books are an example of that: an invention of modern times that make my imagination run wild with each turning of page.

Building a personal library is essential for the intellectual wannabes, to those who put knowledge over anything else and wish to have a physical reference to the works that impacted their lives. When we keep a book, we accept the inevitability of revisiting it when summer afternoons get boring. In addition, we keep bibles that are essential when researching, quoting or trying to impress a professor with big words.

When time passes, all that will remain are old, beautifully-smelling pages that remind us of good times or sad stories. A book is more than 150 pages; it teaches us how to fly in less than a lifetime. To quote a good friend: “It’s not a casualty that, when opened, books resemble birds.”

Carrying magic is not possible. But books are basically the same thing, or even better.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

